Steve Sem-Sandberg is awarded the Selma Lagerlöf Literature Prize 2024 with the motivation

For his existentially saturated and ambiguous novels that portray the contradictory nature of humanity.

The prize will be awarded during the Culture Week in Sunne in August. The prize money is SEK 100,000.
The Selma Lagerlöf Literature Prize is awarded by a foundation of the same name. It is based in Sunne and was established in 1983 by Sunne Municipality, Fryksdalens Sparbank and the then Hotel Selma Lagerlöf. Previous winners include: Bengt Berg, Niklas Rådström, Ingel Edelfält and Sara Stridsberg.