THE DROWNED GIRL

By Sara Blædel

Detective Louise Rick must race against the clock to stop a violent killer targeting immigrants in this disturbing and timely thriller, perfect for readers of Lisa Gardner, Tami Hoag, Tess Gerritsen, or Jo Nesbo.

It’s clearly no ordinary drowning. When a young girl is pulled from the watery depths, a piece of concrete tied around her waist and two mysterious circular patches on the back of her neck, Detective Louise Rick is immediately called out to Holbraek Fjord.

Her name was Samra, and Louise soon learns that her short life was a difficult one, as part of Copenhagen’s sizeable Muslim immigrant community. Samra’s father had already been charged once with assaulting her, and her mother is sure he would be capable of killing anyone who brought dishonor to the family. Yet Samra, she insists, had done nothing dishonorable. So was her death really an honor killing, or something even more sinister?

Navigating the complex web of family and community ties in Copenhagen’s tightly knit ethnic communities, Louise must hunt a killer before he strikes again…

Thriller master Sara Blaedel is in top form as Louise takes on what may be her most important―and deadly―case yet.

ABOUT THE BOOK

First published by People’s Press August 24th 2009

RIGHTS SOLD TO

Czech Republic, Host
Denmark, People’s Press
Finland, Karisto
Germany, Lübbe
Norway, Vigmostad & Björke
Poland, Proszynski
Sweden, Norstedts
UK, Sphere
US, Grand Central Publishing

REVIEWS

BOOKS

Fiction