Award- winning Elisabeth Åsbrink is a writer and journalist based in Stockholm and Copenhagen. She has been shorlisted for the August Prize three times and won the award for best non-fiction in 2011 for And in Vienna the Trees Still Remain. In addition to the August Prize, the book has been awarded the Danish-Swedish Cultural Foundation Culture Award in 2013, and Rychard Kapuscinski Award for best literary reportage in 2013. Her book 1947.
When Now Begins received the English PEN translate award in 2017 and it has been published in 20 countries. From 2017 – 2018 she was chairman of Swedish PEN. 


2010 Jarl Alfredius minnesstipendium

2013 The August Prize for best Non fiction

2013 Dansk-svensk Kulturfonds kulturpris

2013 Ryszard Kapuściński Award for Literary Reportage

2016 Letterstedtska författarpriset

2017 Freedom Pen Prize (Torgny Segerstedt Foundation)

2022 Lotten von Kræmers pris (Samfundet De Nio)